Oct. 27, 2021

Ten individuals or organizations will be honored with this year's Ben-Gurion Award at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev on November 10, 2021, David Ben-​​Gurion Day.  

For the first time, President of Israel Isaac Herzog will be the guest of honor at the ceremony on the Marcus Family Campus. The event will be held in the Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium at 6 PM and is open to the press.

​The Ben-Gurion Award, inaugurated in 2019, is bestowed on individuals for their contributions to the University, the community, and the Negev. President Herzog will also receive a briefing about the activities of BGU's Chaim Herzog Center for Middle East Studies and Diplomacy named after his late father.

The Faculty members to be recognized are:

Dr. Efrat Bron-Harlev

Photo Credit: Schneider Children's Medical Center of Israel
Photo Credit: Schneider Children's Medical Center of Israel​​

CEO of Schneider Children's Medical Center of Israel, which pioneered many aspects of pediatric care in Israel and in the Middle East​.

Prof. Bracha Rager

Prof. Bracha Rager
Photo Credit: Courtesy​

Former chief scientist of the Health Ministry. One of the founders of BGU's Faculty of Health Sciences and a noted measles researcher. She established the Department of Microbiology and Immunology.



Dr. Ron Sabar

Photo Credit: Sabar Health 
Photo Credit: Sabar Health​​​

Founder of Sabar Health – Home Hospital, the largest home hospital service in Israel and considered the largest physician-based home hospital in the world, caring for over 1,000 patients at any given time. He is a graduate of the University's Medical School.