$$News and Reports$$

Jun. 23, 2021

Prof. Raz Jelinek, BGU's Vice-President and Dean for R&D, recently gave out awards and certificates to 12 outstanding BGU researchers at a festive ceremony which took place on June 16th in the W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall in the presence of Faculty Deans and the University administration.

The Vice-President and Dean for R&D's award for multidisciplinary research in humanities and social sciences went to Prof. Michal Bar-Asher Siegal from the Goldstein-Goren Department of Jewish Thought. The award was given for her original research providing new insights on the literature of the sages of the Mishna and Talmud.

Prof. Eitan Bachmat from the Department of Computer Science and Prof. Angel Porgador, Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, received excellence awards for their groundbreaking research: Prof. Bachmat for his research in the fields of storage systems and computational medicine, and Prof. Porgador for a range of applications to develop medications and immunotherapies.

Above: Prof. Raz Jelinek with Prof. Lital Alfonta

The award for groundbreaking research was given to Prof. Iris Shai from the Department of Public Health (for groundbreaking research in the field of nutrition and its connection to health) and to Prof. Lital Alfonta from the Department of Life Sciences (for her groundbreaking research in synthetic biology and its applications in the world of proteins and cells).

The Toronto Prize for Excellence in Research" was awarded to the following researchers:
Prof. Tamar Weinstock (Department of Public Health), Prof. Ely Kovetz (Department of Physics), Prof. Uri Roll, (The Swiss Institute for Dryland Environmental and Energy Research (SIDEER)), Dr. Florina Uzefovsky (Department of Psychology), Dr. Dorit Efrat-Treister (Department of Management), and Prof. Tirza Routtenberg (School of Electrical & Computer Engineering).

The Toronto Prize is awarded to young researchers for their creativity, their conceptualization abilities and achievements in the fields of science, technology, medicine, humanities and social sciences, and their contribution to the benefit of the community.

Above: Prof. Raz Jelinek with Prof. Ely Kovetz​

Dr. Vladimir Ezersky of the Ilse Katz Institute for Nanoscale Science and Technology, won the research prize for administrative and technical staff for his expertise in electron microscopes and contribution to BGU's scientists.