Oct. 18, 2021

Prof. Galit Nimrod, chair of the Department of Communication Studies has been elected to Academia Europaea, making her the first Israeli communications researcher and the second BGU researcher to receive this honor. Prof. Chaim Hames, the current Rector of BGU, was the first.

Prof. Nimrod has been a member of the BGU faculty since 2007, and in addition to her research at the Department of Communication Studies, she is a research fellow at the Center for Multidisciplinary Research in Aging (CMRA).

Her research focuses on the psychological and sociological aspects of older adults' leisure, media, and technology use. She recently received four competitive research grants: A $6 million grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) for aging research; a grant from the Israel Science Foundation (ISF) for joint research with Prof. Nelly Elias on grandparents' involvement in mediation of their grandchildren's digital media use; a grant from the Israel Ministry of Science and Technology for research on social robots for the elderly with Prof. Yael Edan; and a grant from the Center on Health, Aging, and Disability.

The Academia Europaea was established in 1988 and is the Pan-European Academy of Sciences Humanities and Letters.

The object of Academia Europaea is the advancement and propagation of excellence in scholarship in the humanities, law, the economic, social, and political sciences, mathematics, medicine, and all branches of natural and technological sciences anywhere in the world for the public benefit and for the advancement of the education of the public of all ages in the aforesaid subjects in Europe.

Academia Europaea is a European, non-governmental association acting as an Academy. Our members are scientists and scholars who collectively aim to promote learning, education, and research. Founded in 1988, with more than 4500 members which include leading experts from the physical sciences and technology, biological sciences and medicine, mathematics, the letters and humanities, social and cognitive sciences, economics, and the law.