Nov. 08, 2022

W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall, Samuel and Milada Ayrton University Center (#71), Marcus Family Campus, Beer Sheva


The Center for the Study of Conversion and Inter-Religious Encounters (CSoC) at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, and the Rector of the University, Prof. Chaim Hames, are honored to announce that the Ladislaus Laszt Ecumenical and Social Concern Award of 2022 will be granted to the following nominees:

·         Negev Interfaith יוזמה בין-דתית בנגב الحوار بين الأديان في النقب

·         Fr. Olivier of the Benedictine Abbey in Abu Ghosh

·         Mrs. Yisca Harani.  


You are cordially invited to attend the ceremony will take place on November 8, 2022,
17:30-19:00 in W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall, Samuel and Milada Ayrton University Center (#71) 

Reception begins at 17:00

Established in 1985, the prize acknowledges and rewards “a religious personality of international repute, or a person or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to society and whose deeds reflect tolerance, hope and vision – those aspects so essential to the survival of the human race." Former laureates include the 14th Dalai Lama, Fr. Emile Shoufani, Fr. Patrice Debois, Archbishop of Canterbury Donald Kogen, Rabbi Jonathan Zaks and Cardinal Kurt Koch. 

This year the prize committee focused on local activists who demonstrate that individuals can make a change, relentlessly devoting their time and energies to the advancement of interfaith understanding and tolerance in Israel. Based on their long-standing commitment to education, and their conviction that the three Abrahamic traditions can bring people together, Yisca Harani, Fr. Olivier and the members of Negev Interfaith stand firmly against ignorance, racism and violence. Their contribution to open, respectful dialogue between Jewish, Muslim and Christian citizens of Israel is inspiring and hopeful.

Please join us in acknowledging their achievements