Jul. 09, 2018

​​​​On June 26, 18, the year-end event was held at the Guilford Glazer Faculty of Business and Management GGFBM, opened unexpectedly by three actors from the Beer Sheva Fringe Theater, Oren Atias, Liron Ben Zaken Elgrabli and Aviya Dahan who entertained the audience with improvisations based on ideas from the audience.

Guests were further surprise by a special, original entertainment when Dr. Uriel Haran, Dr. Hila Riemer and Dr. Stav Rosenzweig performed a song written by Dr. Haran to the melody of a song by Danny Sanderson.

 The Dean of the GGFBM, Prof. Oded Lowengart presented to the faculty members a roundup of the GGFBM achievements in recent years, during which the Faculty has progressed in great strides in the areas of research, teaching, internationalization and accreditation such as the opening of the International MBA Program IMBA, the opening of a series of annual career development workshops, the opening of the "Gateway to Innovation", the highest quality and number of publications compared to other management faculties, initiating Israel's first two multi-disciplinary competitions, and academic conferences, the establishment of the Mandel Institute for Social Leadership and its unique study tracks. In the past five and a half years, 22 faculty members have been promoted, 16 have received tenure, and two Faculty prizes for outstanding doctoral students have been established.

 IMG_20180626_200129 (Small).jpgIMG_20180626_200450 (Small).jpg

Faculty Awards were granted to Vered Ofek, Administrative Director of the Department of Health Systems Management; Ruhama Reshef, Administrative Director of the Department of Public Administration and Policy; Ani Lev, Administrative Director of the MBA Programs for Executives and the IMBA; Leonid Pasteur, the Faculty Network ITO, and to Israel Frumerman, Department Engineer.

 Research excellence awards were given to Dr. Alon Lisak​ of the Department of Management and to Prof. Ilanit Madar-Gavius of the Department of Business Administration.

The Ayala Malach-Pines Award for Outstanding Doctoral Scholarship was awarded to Michal Ben-Shaul and the GGFBM Award for Doctoral Scholarship was awarded to Michael Gelman.

 Prof. Nahum Finger of the Department of Industrial Engineering and Management was awarded The GGFBM Praiseworthy Award, for his extensive academic work, for being the driving force behind the establishment of the School of Management, for his willingness to help the staff with consultations, for original thoughts, for developing innovative ideas, and more.

 In conclusion, Prof. Lowengart thanked all members of the academic, administrative and technical staffs for their efforts, which, year by year, advances the Faculty, the University and, most importantly, the students. He particularly​​​ noted Mira Golomb, the Administrative Director of the Faculty for her longstanding partnership. Lowengart noted the challenges for the near future: further improving the quality of publications in first-rate journals as a key to international recognition, continuing the IMBA Program, intensifying activity in the accreditation process, maintaining student enrollment, continuous expansion of international cooperation among faculty and students, completion of the process of examining the infrastructure of the Faculty, advances in the accreditation process with EFMD and AACSB.

IMG_20180626_182222 (Small).jpgIMG_20180626_183654 (Small).jpg