​Save the Date

The 23rd Sde Boker Symposium on Solar Electricity Production 

February 15-18, 2021

We are pleased to announce that planning has begun for the 23rd Sede Boqer Symposium on Solar Electricity Production and are broadcasting this “Save the Date”. In keeping with our tradition of sesquiannual gatherings, the tentative date is set for February 15-18, 2021 – while taking into account the need to monitor national and international instructions on holding academic conferences. We hope that by next February we will be allowed to gather in person, as it has been our experience that the opportunity to meet scientists of international caliber and one another under the relaxed and open skies of Sede Boqer has been an incalculable contribution to the advancement of scientific ideas and collaborations.

The Sede Boqer symposia are unusual in that they combine presentations on all methods of solar energy conversion to electricity (photovoltaic, solar-thermal, etc.) in a single conference, usually without parallel sessions. These symposia are organized by the Ben-Gurion National Solar Energy Center, of the Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research, on Ben-Gurion University’s Sede Boqer campus.

Abstracts on the following subjects are of interest: solar energy conversion systems, optics of solar systems, models of systems and components, photovoltaic materials and devices, concentrated solar energy, measurements and characterization, solar thermal systems, thermoelectricity, electricity and heat storage, solar applications.

We are pleased to announce that the followi​ng leaders in their respective fields
have agreed to be our Keynote Speakers:

Prof. Michael D. McGehee
University of Colorado – Boulder, CO USA
"Designing Perovskite-Silicon Tandem Solar Cells to be 30% Efficient and Stable for 25 Years"

Prof. Yuri Gogotsi
Drexel University, Pennsylvania, USA
“MXenes – Synthesis, Optoelectronic Properties and Solar Energy Applications”

Prof. Uri Banin
Hebrew University of Jerusalem
“Colloidal quantum materials as photocatalysts” 

On behalf of the Organizing Committee
Professor Eugene A. Katz

​Conference Administration  ​

Shoshana Dann 
Tel. 08-6596934