Every two years, at the conference, an International Advisory Committee chooses a recipient of the Thomas Guggenheim Prize for Outstanding and Original Research in the History of Economic Thought. The prize, in the sum of $10,000, is awarded to a distinguished scholar for his\her life's work. The prize is awarded in a public lecture delivered by the winner at the conference.

Past recipients of the Thomas Guggenheim prize:

  1. 2009: Professor Bertram Schefold, the Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main. Lecture title: "Marx, Sombart, Weber and the Debate about the Genesis of Modern Capitalism"
  2. 2011: Professor Sam Hollander, Ben-Gurion University and Toronto University. Lecture title: "Adam Smith on 'Natural Liberty' and the Correction of Market Failure"
  3. 2015: David Laidler, University of Western Ontario, Canada. Lecture title: "The interactive evolution of  economic ideas and experience - the case of  Canadian inflation targeting"