Sign In
אוניברסיטת בן-גוריון בנגב
מושב חבר הנאמנים

Draft Program for the 47th Board Meeting

May 14–17, 2017
Sunday, May 14, 2017              
3:30 p.m.              
Finance Committee Meeting
W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall          
5:45 p.m.              
Tour of Beer-Sheva
Driving tour highlighting the city's growth and development,
followed by a walking tour of the Old City with an emphasis on art and culture
Departure from the Samuel and Milada Ayrton University Center
8:00 p.m.              
Welcome Dinner Hosted by President Prof. Rivka Carmi
Lauder Center, Old City of Beer-Sheva
(For registered participants)
Monday, May 15, 2017
10:00 a.m.             
Opening Plenary Session of the 47th Board of Governors Meeting
Alexander M. Goren, Chairman of the Board of Governors
Prof. Zvi HaCohen, Rector
Ori Rath, Chairman  of the Student Union
Counting Up to 50 – Opening Presentation:
Prof. Rivka Carmi, President
Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium
Working Lunch for Board Members with President Prof. Rivka Carmi
Barkan Conference Hall, Zlotowski Student Administration Building      
(For registered participants)    
2:00 p.m.              
Concert in Memory of Dr. Heinz-Horst Deichmann
Performed by the Israel Chamber Orchestra and Members of the Chamber Music Course at BGU
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Requiem in D Minor
Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium
3:30 p.m.              
Annual Zlotowski Event
Public Reading by Author Nicole Krauss, USA
Distinguished Visitor, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, BGU
Presentation of the Zlotowski Admission Awards for Outstanding Students
Moderator: Prof. Steve Rosen, Vice-President for External Affairs
W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall
5:00 p.m.              
Dedication of the Aron Bernstein Chair in Jewish History
Incumbent: Prof. Hanna Yablonka, Department of Jewish History
Panel: New and Fascinating Aspects in Holocaust Research
Showcasing BGU students and alumni from the Department of Jewish History:
Tehilla Malka
Dr. Amir Peleg
Dalit Danenberg
Moderator: Prof. Chaim Hames, Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall
6:30 p.m.              
Ceremony Recognizing the University's New and Most Loyal Supporters
Plaza adjacent to the Ben-Gurion Wall
8:00 p.m.              
Student Evening
Student Performances, Personal Encounters, and Auction of Student Projects
Suzanne Zlotowski Garden
(For registered participants)
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
9:00 a.m.              
Inauguration of the Carole and Marcus Weinstein Software and Information
Systems Engineering  and Cyber Security Building 
in the presence of Carole and Marcus Weinstein, USA
Dedication of the Carole Weinstein Chair in Information Systems Engineering
Incumbent: Prof. Bracha Shapira, Chair, Department of Software and Information Systems Engineering 
Moderator: Prof. Dan Blumberg, Vice-President and Dean for Research & Development 
Carole and Marcus Weinstein Software and Information Systems Engineering
and Cyber Security Building
10:15 a.m.             
Unveiling of the Sculpture The Acrobats
by Theo Tobiasse
in the presence of Catherine Faust-Tobiasse, France
Moderator: Prof. Steve Rosen, Vice-President for External Affairs
Adjacent to the Abraham Ben David Ohayon Behavioral Sciences Complex
11:00 a.m.             
Presentation of the University’s Year in Review to the Board of Governors
Screening of the Documentary Film Ben-Gurion, Epilogue,
Marking David Ben-Gurion's 130th Birthday, and Conversation with the Producer Yael Perlov
Abraham Ben David Ohayon Behavioral Sciences Complex
3:00 p.m.              
Dedication of the Michael Feige Career Development Chair in Israeli Society
in the presence of the Feige Family
Incumbent: Dr. Ben Herzog, Israel Studies Program 
Moderator: Prof. Ofer Shiff, Head of Research Hub,
Israel and the Jewish World, Center for Israel Studies
W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall
4:30 p.m.              
Irene and Hyman Kreitman Annual Memorial Lecture
"Mortall God": A New Approach to Political Theology
Prof. Carlo Ginzburg, Italy
Moderator: Prof. Amnon Raz-Krakotzkin, Department of Jewish History
W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall
7:30 p.m.                  
Conferment Ceremony of Honorary Doctoral Degrees upon:
Prof. Linda B. Buck, USA
Hon. Julia Gillard, Australia
Prof. Carlo Ginzburg, Italy
Prof. Eric S. Lander, USA
Ellen S. Marcus, USA
Prof. Stanley B. Prusiner, USA
Carole and Marcus Weinstein, USA
Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium 
The ceremony will be followed by a reception in the Udi Garden
Warm clothing recommended
Wednesday, May 17, 2017
Travel to Sede Boqer
10:00 a.m.              
Ceremony Marking the Establishment of the Center for Israel Studies
in the presence of Danna Azrieli, Chair, Azrieli Group and Azrieli Foundation Israel
Panel: Promoting Research on Israel and Revitalizing Related Public Discourse
Featuring research fellows from the Center for Israel Studies, Ben-Gurion Research Institute:
Adi Sherzer, PhD Student
Dr. Tanya Zion-Waldoks, Post-Doctoral Fellow
Dr. Dvir Tzur, Researcher
Moderator: Dr. Paula Kabalo, Director, Ben-Gurion Research Institute for the Study of Israel and Zionism
George Evens Family Auditorium
11:30 a.m.             
Annual Review: Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research
Prof. Boris Zaltzman, Director
Dr. Muhammad Bashouti, Swiss Institute for Dryland Environmental and Energy Research
Dr. Vered Tzin, French Associates Institute for Agriculture and Biotechnology of Drylands
Dr. Edo Bar-Zeev, Zuckerberg Institute for Water Research
George Evens Family Auditorium
12:30 p.m.
Personal Encounters and Lunch with Students from the Albert Katz International School
for Desert Studies
Return to Hotel
7:30 p.m.
Festive Closing Evening of the Board of Governors Meeting
Banquet and Dance 
Plaza adjacent to the Jusidman Science Center for Youth
(For registered participants)
Warm clothing recommended



Additional Events

Monday, May 15, 2017
8:00 a.m              
AABGU Reception

Tuesday, May 16, 2017
7:00 a.m.             
AABGU Board Meeting 
Leonardo Negev Hotel