

הסנאט והוועד המנהל של אוניברסיטת בן-גוריון בנגב גמרו אומר לכבד את

פרופ׳ לינדה ב׳ באק

לאות כבוד לחוקרת מזהירה ומובילה בתחומי הביולוגיה המולקולארית והנוירו-פסיכולוגיה, כלת פרס נובל בפיזיולוגיה או רפואה לשנת 2004; למדענית דגולה ופורצת דרך, שעבודתה החלוצית לגילוי המנגנונים הפיזיולוגיים של חוש הריח הסירה את הלוט מעל אופן פעולתם של החיישנים הפועלים לזיהוי מולקולת הריח, להעברת המידע למוח ולארגונו במפות מרחביות ייחודיות לכל אחד מרבבות הריחות השונים; בהערכה לחברה באקדמיה הלאומית למדעים בארה"ב, שפענחה את חידת הקידוד הגנטי של חיישני הריח ובכך פתחה אופקים חדשים בהבנת הבסיס המולקולארי של תופעות ביולוגיות; בהוקרה על הישגיה רבי-ההשפעה של אשת אקדמיה עטורת פרסים, שכמה מטובי המדענים זכו להימנות עם תלמידיה; ומתוך הכרה בחשיבותם של הנתיבים החדשים שפרצה בחקר גוף האדם ותפיסתו את העולם הסוב אותו עם תלמידיה באותוך הכרה בחשיבותם ל

ולהעניק לה את התואר

דוקטור לפילוסופיה לאות כבוד

על כל הזכויות והכבוד הכרוכים בתואר זה

The Senate and the Executive Committee of Ben-Gurion University of the Negev hereby resolve to honor

Prof. Linda B. Buck

With admiration for a distinguished, leading researcher in the areas of molecular biology and neuropsychology, laureate of the 2004 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine; in honor of a prodigious and groundbreaking scientist, whose pioneering discovery of the physiological mechanisms underlying the sense of smell unveiled the behavior of olfactory receptors in their identification of odor molecules, the transmission of information to the brain, and its organization into spatial maps unique to each distinct odor; in acknowledgment of a member of the American National Academy of Sciences, who unraveled the mystery behind the genetic coding of olfactory receptors, thus opening up new horizons for understanding the molecular foundation of biological phenomena; in appreciation of the remarkable achievements of an academician who has received notable awards and who has counted leading researchers among her students; and in recognition of her impact on important new paths of study related to the human body and its perception of the world around us, for the advancement of all,

by conferring upon her the degree of

DOCTOR PHILOSOPHIAE HONORIS CAUSA

with all the rights and privileges pertaining thereto

פרופ׳ צבי הכהן רקטור Prof. Zvi HaCohen Rector אלכסנדר מ׳ גורן יו״ר חבר הנאמנים Alexander M. Goren Chairman of the Board of Governors פרופ׳ רבקה כרמי נשיאה Prof. Rivka Carmi President

May 16, 2017 | כ׳ באייר תשע״ז