Skip to content
Department of
Biomedical Engineering

 ​Faculty Members

 
Alberto Bilenca, Senior Lecturer

E-mail:
bilenca@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479824
Office:
30-309

Research Areas:
Biomedical optics, optical diagnosis, nano-imaging, optical signal processing
 
 

 

Hadar Ben-Yoav, Senior Lecturer
 
E-mail:
benyo​av@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479717
Office:
64-204
 
Research Areas:

 

 

Bioelectronics, Micro- and Nano-electronic devices and systems, Bio-Microelectromechanical Systems (Bio-MEMS), Biosensors, Personalized health monitoring and treatment. Enabling sensing and actuation technologies for study, diagnosis, and treatment of illnesses.
 
 Opher.jpg
Opher Donchin, Associate Professor
 
E-mail:
donchin@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479620
Office:
63-207
 
Research Areas:
How the acquisition of new skills changes the nervous system, both on the behavioral and on the psychological levels, mainly by observing the structure and function of the cerebellum
 
 
 
Giora Enden, Senior Lecturer
 
E-mail:
genden@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479615
Office:
63-201
 
Research Areas:
Calculations of flow and transfer of heat and mass in bio-medicine, mathematical models of biological systems, population dynamics, and mathematical models of accelerating drug delivery through the skin using ultra-sound
 
 
 
Oded Farago, Associate Professor
 
E-mail:
ofarago@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479830
Office:
51-224
 
Research Areas:
Theoretical and calculative models of biological membranes
 
Ilana Nisky, Senior Lecturer
 
E-mail:
nisky@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6428936
Office:
64-105
Research Areas:
Research interests: Medical robotics, telerobotics, and neuroscience. Using the understanding of human motor control for the control of medical robots and the understanding of motor learning for medical skill evaluation and training. 
 
 
 
Amnon Sintov, Associate Professor
 
E-mail:
asintov@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6472709
Office:
E.D. Bergman Campus, Bld. 2, Room 2008
Research Areas:
Biopharmaceutics, drug delivery systems, transdermal systems, topical and mucosal permeation, pharmacokinetics and controlled release of active ingredients
 
 
yanivZigel.jpg 
Yaniv Zigel, Senior Lecturer
 
E-mail:
yaniv@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6478372
Office:
30-302
 
Research Areas:
Physiological signal processing, analysis of audio signals and signals, study of sleep, heart and respiratory problems

 Adjunct Staff /Common Appointments / Emeritus

 

 
 
Rony Azouz, Professor
 
E-mail:
razouz@bgumail.bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479851
Office:
M6-424
 
 
Research Areas:
 
Physiology of sensory perception
 
 
 
Gal deBotton, Professor
 
E-mail:
debotton@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6477105
Office:
55-337
 
 
Research Areas:
 
Biomechanics of soft tissues, Smart materials for biomedical devices
 
 
 
Alon Friedman, Professor
 
E-mail:
alonf@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479879
Office:
Srk6-632
 
 
Research Areas:
 
Pathophysiology of central nervous system diseases with emphasis on blood brain barrier and its role in neurological diseases (especially epilepsy, stroke and degenerative diseases). Development of quantitative methods for imaging blood vessel and monitoring electrical brain activity in pathological conditions
 
 
 
 
Gad Shani, Professor Emeritus
 
E-mail:
gshani@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479638
Office:
 
H4-316
 
 
 
Research Areas:
 
Use of ionizing radiation in brachytherapy, dosimetry, and development of radiation detectors
 
 
 
Yehuda Zeiri, Professor
 
E-mail:
yehuda@bgu.ac.il
Phone:
+972-8-6479611
Office:
Campus Bergmann 2026
 
 
 
Research Areas:
 
Computational models of the interaction between radiation fields (light and ultrasound) and biological tissue and bio-molecules, particle-substrate (biomaterials) adhesion measurements and numerical simulations, search for biomarkers of various physiological conditions in urine, breath and sweat and application of gold nanoparticles for drug delivery
 

 

​ In Memorium

 

 
Karniel Amir, Professor
 
Research Areas:
Computational Motor Control, Motor Learning, Haptics, Human-Robot Interaction, Motor Neuroscience, Internal Models