Program for the 44th Board Meeting

Sunday, May 18, 2014

4:30 p.m. **Finance Committee Meeting** Chairpersons: Eric Charles, UK; Micha Dapht, Israel *W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall*

6:30 p.m.

Ceremony marking the construction of the Guzik Family Building for Biotechnology Engineering

in the presence of Dr. Nahum Guzik, USA Moderator: Prof. Joseph Kost, Dean, Faculty of Engineering Sciences Balcony, 4th floor, Alon Building for Hi-Tech

7:30 p.m

Celebrating Lag Ba'Omer at a Welcome Dinner hosted by President Prof. Rivka Carmi for overseas guests

Niusia and Aron Chilewich Square Please wear comfortable shoes and warm clothing. (*For registered participants*)

Monday, May 19, 2014

9:30 a.m.

Opening Plenary Session of the 44th Board of Governors Meeting In the presence of The Honorable President of the State of Israel Mr. Shimon Peres

Addresses: Alexander M. Goren, Chairman of the Board of Governors Prof. Rivka Carmi, President Prof. Zvi HaCohen, Rector Keynote address: *A Dickensian Approach to Israel-UK Relations* by H.E. Daniel Taub, Israeli Ambassador to the United Kingdom

and Presentation of the Ben-Gurion Leadership Award to Mr. Shimon Peres,

President of the State of Israel

In the presence of Ruvik Danilovich, Mayor of Beer-Sheva Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium

12:00 p.m.

Working lunch for Board members with President Rivka Carmi Presentation by Dr. Eviatar Matania, Head of the Israel National Cyber Bureau *Barkan Conference Hall, Zlotowski Student Administration Building*

2:00 p.m.

Dedication of the Ruth and Heinz-Horst Deichmann Classroom and Computer Lab Building

in the presence of the Deichmann Family, Germany and Israel Guest of Honor: MK Prof. Avishay Braverman Ruth and Heinz-Horst Deichmann Classroom and Computer Lab Building

3:00 p.m.

Annual Zlotowski Lecture:

Development Under Duress: Risk and Resilience in Israeli Adolescents Exposed to Terrorism

by Prof. Golan Shahar, Department of Psychology

Presentation of the Zlotowski Admission Awards for Outstanding Students in the presence of Suzanne Zlotowski, UK, and Adelene Zlotowski, Israel

Moderator: Prof. Alon Friedman, Zlotowski Center for Neuroscience Ruth and Heinz-Horst Deichmann Classroom and Computer Lab Building

4:00 p.m.

Cornerstone-Laying Ceremony of the Lorry I. Lokey Chemistry Building

in the presence of Lorry I. Lokey, USA Moderator: Prof. Shlomi Dolev, Dean, Faculty of Natural Sciences *Plaza of the Sacta-Rashi Building for Physics*

6:30 p.m.

Festive Dinner and Dedication Ceremony of the President's Pillars

Greetings: Natan Sharansky, Chairman of the Executive, The Jewish Agency for Israel

Moderator: Prof. Amos Drory, Vice President for External Affairs Minkoff Family Senate Court

9:00 p.m.

Recital by classical pianist Evgeny Kissin, Israel/UK and a dessert reception

Greetings: Natan Sharansky, Chairman of the Executive, The Jewish Agency for Israel Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

9:00 a.m. Ceremony welcoming new members of the Ben-Gurion Society and recognizing the University's most loyal supporters *Plaza adjacent to the Ben-Gurion Wall*

10:30 a.m. **Presentation of the University's Year in Review to the Board of Governors** W.A. Minkoff Sonato Hall

W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall

1:00 p.m.

Lunch with the Student Union

Sponsored by AABGU members Ricki & Zvi Alon, Helen & Jack Bershad, Dvora Ezralow,

Vicki & Lloyd Goldman, Arline & Ben Guefen, Maribeth & Steven Lerner, Aileen Whitman

(For registered participants)

Zlotowski Student Center

4:00 p.m.

Lecture under the auspices of the Robert St. John Chair in Objective Middle East Reporting

In the Eye of the Storm: Reflections on Being Jerusalem Bureau Chief for The New York Times

by Ethan Bronner, Deputy National Editor of *The New York Times* Moderator: Prof. David Newman OBE, Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall

5:00 p.m.

Irene and Hyman Kreitman Annual Memorial Lecture *Innovation, Openness and the 21st Century University*

by Prof. Andrew D. Hamilton, Vice-Chancellor, University of Oxford In the presence of H.E. Matthew Gould MBE, British Ambassador to Israel Moderator: Prof. Raymond A. Dwek, CBE FRS, Director, Glycobiology Institute, University of Oxford

W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall

7:30 p.m.

Conferment Ceremony of Honorary Doctoral Degrees upon:

Dr. Linda S. Birnbaum, USA James M. Breslauer, USA Dr. Nahum Guzik, USA Prof. Andrew D. Hamilton, UK Evgeny Kissin, Israel/UK Prof. Saul Friedländer, Israel/USA Cheryl Saban, Ph.D., USA *Cummings Plaza* The ceremony will be followed by a reception in the Udi Garden

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

8:30 a.m. Depart for Sede Boqer

9:30 a.m.

Dedication of the building for the Ben-Gurion National Solar Energy Center

Greetings: Gérard Worms, President, French Associates Prof. Emeritus David Faiman, Ben-Gurion National Solar Energy Center Moderator: Prof. Pedro Berliner, Director, Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research *Ben-Gurion National Solar Energy Center* Followed by a tour of the building

11:00 a.m.

Dedication of the the American Associates Village at Sede Boqer

Opening address: Prof. Pedro Berliner, Director, Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research

Greetings: Carol Saal, Past President, AABGU, and Vice Chair of the BGU Board of Governors

Words of thanks: Dr. Paula Kabalo, Director,

Ben-Gurion Research Institute for the Study of Israel and Zionism Closing remarks: Ron Rozen, Linenberg Rozen Architects *George Evens Family Auditorium* Followed by a tour of the village

1:00 p.m.

Chairman's Council Meeting

Miriam and Ed Vickar Information Center (For council members only)

9:00 p.m

Gala Dinner celebrating the establishment of the President's Pillars Performance by Yehoram Gaon

Moderator: Roy J. Zuckerberg, Chairman Emeritus, BGU Board of Governors *Conference room, Beresheet Hotel (For registered participants) Dress code: Israeli elegant*

Thursday, May 22, 2014

12:00 noon Check-out from hotel