Program of the 42nd Board of Governors Meeting

Sunday, May 13, 2012

6:30 p.m. Dedication of the Roberta and Ernest Scheller, Jr. Family Foundation Entrance Plaza

in the presence of Roberta and Ernest Scheller, Jr., USA Diane and Guilford Glazer Building

Monday, May 14, 2012

9:00 a.m. **Finance Committee Meeting** Chairpersons: Eric Charles, UK; Micha Dapht, Israel *W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall*

10:30 a.m. **Opening Plenary Session of the 42nd Annual Board of Governors Meeting** Guest of Honor: Natan Sharansky, Chairman of the Jewish Agency Addresses: Roy J. Zuckerberg, Outgoing Chairman of the Board of Governors Prof. Rivka Carmi, President Prof. Zvi HaCohen, Rector Greetings: Ruvik Danilovich, Mayor of Beer-Sheva Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium

12:30 p.m. **Panel Discussion:** *The Arab Spring – Interim Report* Chair: Dr. Iris Agmon, Department of Middle East Studies Participants: Dr. Ronen Bergman, journalist at Yedioth Ahronoth newspaper Prof. Yoram Meital, Director, Chaim Herzog Center for Middle East Studies and Diplomacy, BGU Prof. Haggai Ram, Department of Middle East Studies Dr. Walid Salem, Director of Panorama – Center for Dissemination of Democracy and Community Development Professor Emeritus Emmanuel Sivan, Hebrew University of Jerusalem Joya Claire Sonnenfeldt Auditorium

4:00 p.m. Lecture by The Baroness Deech, D.B.E., Chair, Bar Standards Board, UK **Restoring our History: Poland and Jewish Property** Moderator: Harold Paisner, President, Ben-Gurion University Foundation, UK W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall

5:00 p.m. Inauguration of the Toby Mower Presidential Development Chairs in Addiction Prevention and Treatment

Incumbents: Miriyam Farkash and Dr. Orli Grinstein-Cohen, Leon and Mathilde Recanati School for Community Health Professions in the presence of Toby and Dr. Morton Mower, USA *W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall*

6:00 p.m. Welcome ceremony for new members of the Ben-Gurion Society and recognition of the University's most loyal supporters *Plaza adjacent to the Ben-Gurion Wall*

Tuesday, May 15, 2012

9:00 a.m. Annual Zlotowski Event

in the presence of Suzanne Zlotowski, UK, and Adelene Zlotowski, Israel Presentation of the Zlotowski Admission Awards for Outstanding Students Recognition of brain research at BGU upon dedication of the 3T MRI scanner Panel Discussion: *Looking Into the Brain* Participants: Dr. Galia Avidan, Department of Psychology Dr. Ilan Dinstein, Department of Psychology Prof. Avishai Henik, Department of Psychology Dr. Ronen Segev, Department of Life Sciences Dr. Ilan Shelef, Department of Radiology Moderator: Prof. Alon Friedman, Director, Zlotowski Center for Neurosciences in the presence of Suzanne Zlotowski, UK, and Adelene Zlotowski, Israel *W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall*

11:00 a.m. Presentation of the University's Year in Review to the Board of Governors with a focus on its energy initiative

W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall

1:00 p.m. Lunch for Board members with President Rivka Carmi (**by invitation only**)

3:00 p.m. Lecture by Dr. Debrework Zewdie, Director, Global HIV/AIDS Program for the World Bank

Global Solidarity: The Fight Against AIDS Moderator: Prof. Mark Clarfield, Director, Medical School for International Health in collaboration with Columbia University Medical Center *W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall*

4:00 p.m. **Irene and Hyman Kreitman Annual Memorial Lecture** *The Impact of the Eichmann Trial: A Perspective After Fifty Years* by Prof. Deborah Lipstadt, Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish and Holocaust Studies, Emory University, USA Moderator: Professor Emeritus Shimon Glick, BGU *W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall*

5:30 p.m. Lecture by Supreme Court President (Emeritus) Dorit Beinisch Moderator: Prof. Ayala Malach-Pines, Dean, Guilford Glazer Faculty of Business and Management W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall (* The lecture is in Hebrew, with simultaneous translation to English)

7:30 p.m. **Conferment of Honorary Doctoral Degrees** Recipients: Justice Dorit Beinsich, Israel; Prof. Howard (Haim) Cedar, Israel; The Baroness Deech, D.B.E., UK; Prof. Deborah Lipstadt, USA; Prof. Jesse Roth, USA; Dr. Debrework Zewdie, Ethiopia *Kreitman Plaza* The ceremony will be followed by a reception in the Udi Garden

Wednesday, May 16, 2012

9:00 a.m. **Panel Discussion:** *The Negev Is Now – Developing the Desert* Guest of Honor: M.K. Prof. Avishay Braverman Participants: Major General Orna Barbivai, Head of the IDF Personnel Directorate; Prof. Zvi HaCohen, BGU Rector; Orna Hozman-Bechor, Director-General, Ministry for Development of the Negev and the Galilee; Shmuel Rifman, Mayor, Ramat Hanegev Regional Council Moderator: Danny Kushmaro, TV Reporter, Channel 2 *W.A. Minkoff Senate Hall*

11:30 a.m. Overview of research activities at the Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research

by Prof. Pedro Berliner, Institutes Director **Presentation: Desert Architecture and the Built Environment** by Prof. David Pearlmutter and Dr. Aviva Peeters, Swiss Institute for Dryland Environmental and Energy Research *George Evens Family Auditorium, Jacob Blaustein Institutes for Desert Research*

The presentation will be followed by a **tour of The Desalination and Water Treatment Pilot Plant** with Prof. Yoram Oren and Dr. Moshe Herzberg, Zuckerberg Institute for Water Research

8:30 p.m. Gala Evening in honor of outgoing Chairman of